Top facebook2x Top email2x Email us Top search2x Login
Home / Club History / 9 Celebration
Home / Club History / 9 Celebration

9 Celebration

Part 9 - Celebration

Thirtieth Anniversary - 1991

Group Photograph to Commemorate Club's Thirtieth Anniversary August 1991

RYA Community Award - 2008

In 2008, the RYA Honours and Awards Panel conferred a Community Award on Edie Sampson for her service to the Club and to sailing. On Friday 28th November 2008, Edie, accompanied by Tricia Gordon, travelled to London where HRH The Princess Royal, President of the RYA, presented her with the Award.

Edie with HRH The Princess Royal

50th Anniversary Dinner - 2011

On Saturday 29 January 2011, ninety-one members and guests, including nine previous Commodores, attended an anniversary dinner at Lee-on-the-Solent Golf Club.

Commodores Past and Present

              • Back Row: Mick Merson, Tim Wadham, Alan Finding, Terry Pearson, Peter Cox
              • Front Row: Eric Kettle, Dave Thorne, Vic Bryant, Alan Flack, John Glover

50th Anniversary "Commodore's at Home" - 2011

The "Commodore's At Home" in 2011 was held at the clubhouse on Sunday 6th February. An exceptional turn-out of more than 45 members hosted 35 guests including the Deputy Mayor of Fareham, Councillor Trevor Cartwright, local Councillors and representatives of local sailing clubs.

Commodore, Peter Cox and Deputy Mayor of Fareham, Councillor Trevor Cartwright

The Anniversary Cake - Cut by Mrs Ruth Cartwright - Baked by Mrs Jenny Prosser

Citizen of Honour - 2019

In April 2019, Members of Seafarers were delighted to hear that David Grout had been formally recognised as a Fareham Citizen of Honour for his significant volunteer work. All agreed this was richly deserved and felt it appropriate that our quiet and understated Membership Secretary and Chief Instructor (Sailing) had been selected as an outstanding volunteer in the local community.

David and fellow Citizens of Honour with the outgoing Mayor of Fareham

Last updated 11:33 on 17 May 2024

Top facebook2x
© 2024 Seafarers Sailing Club powered by Sailing Club Manager